APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF COMMITTEES FOR 2017/2018

NORTH HERTFORDSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

CONSTITUTION OF COMMITTEES, SUB-COMMITTEES AND WORKING GROUPS 2017/2018

Set out below are the proposed Members of the Committees, Sub-Committees and Working Groups for the Civic Year 2017/2018:

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(16 Members)

Councillor Ian Albert

Councillor Clare Billing

Councillor John Booth

Councillor Bill Davidson

Councillor Steve Deakin-Davies

Councillor Elizabeth Dennis

Councillor Jean Green

Councillor Steve Hemingway

Councillor Cathryn Henry

Councillor S.K. Jarvis

Councillor Ben Lewis

Councillor Gerald Morris

Councillor M.R.M. Muir

Councillor Janine Paterson

Councillor Frank Radcliffe

Councillor Valentine Shanley

(Substitutes:

Councillor John Bishop

Councillor Paul Clark

Councillor Simon Harwood

Councillor T.W. Hone

Councillor Paul Marment

Councillor Mike Rice

Councillor Adrian Smith

Councillor Martin Stears-Handscomb)

FINANCE, AUDIT & RISK COMMITTEE

(7 Members)

Councillor Ian Albert

Councillor John Bishop

Councillor Simon Harwood

Councillor T.W. Hone

Councillor Jim McNally

Councillor Deepak Sangha

Councillor Terry Tyler

(Substitutes:

Councillor Clare Billing Councillor John Booth Councillor Nicola Harris Councillor S.K. Jarvis)

COUNCIL TAX SETTING COMMITTEE

(5 Members)

Councillor Ian Albert Councillor Julian Cunningham Councillor A.F. Hunter Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham Councillor R.A.C. Thake

(Substitutes:

Councillor Sarah Dingley Councillor T.W. Hone Councillor Frank Radcliffe)

EMPLOYMENT COMMITTEE

(5 Members)
Chairman appointed for each meeting

Councillor Judi Billing Councillor Jane Gray Councillor Bernard Lovewell Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham Councillor Frank Radcliffe

(Substitutes:

Councillor Julian Cunningham Councillor David Levett Councillor Deepak Sangha)

JOINT STAFF CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE

(5 Members)

Councillor Sarah Dingley Councillor Fiona Hill Councillor Bernard Lovewell Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham Councillor Martin Stears-Handscomb

(Substitutes:

Councillor Ian Albert Councillor John Bishop Councillor Michael Weeks)

CABINET SUB-COMMITTEE (COUNCIL CHARITIES)

(3 Cabinet Members)

Councillor Julian Cunningham Councillor Bernard Lovewell Councillor Michael Weeks

CABINET SUB-COMMITTEE (LOCAL AUTHORITY TRADING COMPANIES' SHAREHOLDER)

(3 Cabinet Members)

Councillor Julian Cunningham Councillor David Levett Councillor Ray Shakespeare-Smith

PLANNING CONTROL COMMITTEE

(15 Members)

Councillor D.J. Barnard

Councillor John Bishop

Councillor John Booth

Councillor Paul Clark

Councillor Bill Davidson

Councillor Jean Green

Councillor Cathryn Henry

Councillor Fiona Hill

Councillor Tony Hunter

Councillor Ian Mantle

Councillor M.R.M. Muir

Councillor Mike Rice

Councillor Adrian Smith
Councillor Harry Spencer-Smith

Councillor Martin Stears-Handscomb

(Substitutes:

Councillor Elizabeth Dennis

Councillor Sarah Dingley

Councillor Fave S. Frost

Councillor Gary Grindal

Councillor Simon Harwood

Councillor Ben Lewis

Councillor Valentine Shanley

Councillor Terry Tyler)

LICENSING AND APPEALS COMMITTEE

(Pool consisting of 10 to 15 Members)
(Usually 14 Members appointed) - NO Substitutes

Councillor Ian Albert Councillor D.J. Barnard Councillor Elizabeth Dennis Councillor Faye S. Frost

Councillor Jean Green
Councillor Gary Grindal
Councillor Simon Harwood
Councillor Ben Lewis
Councillor Sandra Lunn
Councillor Jim McNally
Councillor Paul Marment
Councillor Gerald Morris
Councillor M.R.M. Muir
Councillor Mike Rice

BALDOCK & DISTRICT COMMITTEE

(Baldock, Arbury & Weston & Sandon Wards - Parishes of Ashwell, Bygrave, Caldecote, Clothall, Hinxworth, Newnham, Radwell, Rushden, Sandon, Wallington & Weston)

(6 Members)

Councillor S.K. Jarvis
Councillor Jim McNally
Councillor M.R.M. Muir
Councillor Janine Paterson
Councillor Valentine Shanley
Councillor Michael Weeks

HITCHIN COMMITTEE

(Hitchin and St. Ippolyts (North) Parish ward)

(13 Members)

Councillor Ian Albert

Councillor Judi Billing

Councillor Paul Clark

Councillor Elizabeth Dennis

Councillor Nicola Harris

Councillor Simon Harwood

Councillor Bernard Lovewell

Councillor Alan Millard

Councillor Frank Radcliffe

Councillor Ray Shakespeare-Smith

Councillor Adrian Smith

Councillor Martin Stears-Handscomb

Councillor R.A.C. Thake

LETCHWORTH COMMITTEE

(Letchworth only)

(13 Members)

Councillor Clare Billing Councillor John Booth Councillor Julian Cunningham Councillor Gary Grindal Councillor T.W. Hone

Councillor Lorna Kercher

Councillor David Levett

Councillor Sandra Lunn

Councillor Ian Mantle

Councillor Paul Marment

Councillor Mike Rice

Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham

Councillor Deepak Sangha

ROYSTON & DISTRICT COMMITTEE

(Royston & Ermine Ward - Parishes of Barkway, Barley, Kelshall, Nuthampstead, Reed & Therfield)

(7 Members)

Councillor Bill Davidson

Councillor Sarah Dingley

Councillor Jean Green

Councillor Fiona Hill

Councillor A.F. Hunter

Councillor Ben Lewis

Councillor Gerald Morris

SOUTHERN RURAL COMMITTEE

(Parishes of Codicote, Gosmore, Graveley, Great Ashby, Hexton, Holwell, Ickleford, Kimpton, Kings Walden, Knebworth, Langley, Lilley, Offley, Pirton, Preston, St. Ippolyts (South), St. Paul's Walden & Wymondley)

(10 Members)

Councillor D.J. Barnard

Councillor John Bishop

Councillor Steve Deakin-Davies

Councillor Faye S. Frost

Councillor Jane Gray

Councillor Steve Hemingway

Councillor Cathryn Henry

Councillor Harry Spencer-Smith

Councillor Mrs C.P.A. Strong

Councillor Terry Tyler

STANDARDS COMMITTEE

(12 District Council Members

Independent Person and Reserve Independent Person (advisory roles);

2 Parish Council Members – non-voting co-optees)

(12 District Councillors)

Councillor Judi Billing

Councillor Julian Cunningham

Councillor Jane Gray

Councillor Steve Hemingway

Councillor David Levett

Councillor Bernard Lovewell

Councillor Ian Mantle

Councillor Paul Marment

Councillor M.R.M. Muir Councillor Frank Radcliffe Councillor Mike Rice Councillor Terry Tyler

(Substitutes:

Councillor Clare Billing
Councillor Paul Clark
Councillor Nicola Harris
Councillor Ben Lewis
Councillor Sandra Lunn
Councillor Harry Spencer-Smith
Councillor Michael Weeks

Independent Person: Mr Nicholas Moss (advisory)

Reserve Independent Person: Mr Peter Chapman (advisory)

Parish Councillors Helena Gregory and Robert Logan - non-voting co-optees)

HITCHIN TOWN CENTRE WORKING PARTY

(7 Members)

Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham (Chairman)
3 other Conservative Group nominations to be advised
Councillor Ian Albert
Councillor Judi Billing
Councillor Paul Clark

COMMUNITY FACILITIES CAPITAL GRANTS PANEL

(10 Members)

Councillor Ian Albert
Councillor Clare Billing
Councillor Judi Billing
Councillor Simon Harwood
Councillor Steve Hemingway
Councillor Cathryn Henry
Councillor Fiona Hill
Councillor Jim McNally
Councillor Mike Rice
Councillor Terry Tyler

CCTV PARTNERSHIP JOINT COMMITTEE

Councillor Julian Cunningham Councillor A.F. Hunter Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham

JOINT MEMBER PANEL - LETCHWORTH GARDEN CITY HERITAGE FOUNDATION

(All Members of the Letchworth Committee)